Clutter Window Shopper Freak

I have a tiny flaw (under my own light, which is different to my husband’s opinion on the matter). I tend to be a clutter freak. I have things from 15 years ago that really have no economic value. I have papers and napkins with stick figure drawings from my Sunday school students. My wedding album counts with a collection of dry leaves that my husband and I picked up during our honeymoon as we were horseback riding (1995). If you peek under my bed, you will find shoe boxes with dollar store bought trinkets, old notes, receipts, bills, and half-used make-up (all in hopes that I might find useful in the future). My closet has a section with new and old shoes. Why I don’t get rid of them on a regular basis perhaps has to do with the fact that I have a particular personal attachment with them. My colleagues among my major department say that I should concentrate in teaching Kindergarten because I am always buying little things here and there, and coming up with some interesting ideas/projects using common items such as Gerber jars, thread spools, coins, and others. I take pride when it is time to make a group class project and I have all these things to work with. However, my balloon is soon deflated when my husband comes into the picture. He is the opposite of me in this matter. Miguel frequently clears out his drawers, throws out shoes, and gets rid of “old stuff”. He says that if something is worn out, then it is time to buy a new one. several years ago we had a peculiar conversation in regards to our difference in spending. This connects with a previous blog on the poor-minded individual who prefers quantity instead of quality. My husband told me, “You need to get rid of that old stuff and get yourself new things. I contradicted and said, but we can’t afford for both of us to get new things.” (I also was thinking, “Yeah, well, that’s nice. You don’t have boobs to cover and panties to stain once a month, neither pantyhose to rip, nor make up to buy.”) I told him that he was going to have to go shopping with me to prove to him that my getting rid of my old stuff was going to cost more than he thought! The conversation ended with him reminding me that sooner or later I was going to get tired of the buying lots for cheap, and that quality always looks and lasts longer. I am doing better, especially when it comes to tennis shoes and bras.

The same is true for our heart. As I speculate on this incident, I find that our attitudes reveal attitudes of our hearts. Miguel is a person who easily forgets (now, that can be good or bad.). This means when he forgives, he takes the clutter out of his heart. He does not go back to garbage to dust it off here and there. When I am still hung up on an issue, he tells me to just let it go, that it is old stuff. I, again, having a good memory, remind him that it is not easy and that I don’t want it to repeat again. What I learned over the years is that the clutter-ness in my house sipped into my heart. When I first came to Oasis, my heart was a life box of bitterness, pain, anger, and a whole bunch of old stuff that had no value. When my pastor began to talk to me about forgiveness (getting rid of the old), I found myself in the same conversation with my husband, “But, you don’t understand how much it cost me! How many years of my life went into this place or that friendship, what if I don’t find something the same? It is hard to let go. How much will it cost me to get the new?” Clutter Freak. Clutter because we are just adding things without getting rid of the old. Freak because God made us in His image and our life should reflect an orderly godly dwelling place for His Holy Spirit. I guess in a weird unholy way, I did not want to feel the void. Yes, those things were hindering me, but at the same time, it was all I had. God wants to give us new anointing, new dreams, new hope, a new life. The COST you say? Well, it has already been paid! All we have to do is empty out the drawers and receive. You no longer have to go window shopping throughout your life longing for God’s promises yet not having the money or room to receive them. Can you really afford to continue with all that clutter in your heart? It starts with one thing, and sooner or later they pile up. One reason I recognized why it was hard for me to get rid of the old stuff was because I thought I might not find another pair of shoes the same. I mean things go out of style but still there are those items we cling to. What if I don’t like the new ones as much as the old? Who cares! Maybe, you don’t like the new ones better, but they might be just what you need. You know once you hit thirty, buying a pair of Crocs seems like a reasonable idea, even if it goes against any fashion conviction you might have.

Just get rid of those old things, and have the assurance that God’s plans for you are and better than your past (Jeremiah 29:11). Exchange the quantity of devalued things for His quality of life.

[ Invitation to the Thirsty ]

“Come, all you who are thirsty, come to the waters; and you who have no money, come, buy and eat! Come, buy wine and milk without money and without cost. (Isaiah 55:1)

1 Comment (+add yours?)

  1. Simply Me
    Apr 30, 2008 @ 12:09:59

    Gotta love those clogs! 😉
    Yes, we have to let go of that clutter in our lives to get the Goods of God!

    Reply

Leave a Reply

