Fairy Tales of Life

One of my nieces, of whom I wrote about in my about page is a faithful companion of many of my devotional times. I sit behind my keyboard, and she lays on her tummy on top of my queen-size bed. Frequently, she tries to help hold up my music sheets or sometimes (many I would say) she tries to “help” me change the sounds to make a more melodious sound. We noticed something peculiar about her and worship music. When she hears soft music and we sing to the Lord in adoration, she becomes fairly still. Her big eyes widen as they become glossy with tears. When she can’t hold the tears back, she hides her face under my lavender throw pillows. I think it is so cute. She on the other hand does not understand the emotions that this genre of music evokes in her. She does not understand that when a heart of worship along with prayer and music come together, the presence of God, who is already with us, manifests in a distinct manner. It is the Holy Spirit that touches our hearts. The theological lingo obviously does not suit a 3 year old. When I sang the song Come Reveal by Jonathan Stockstill, she said to me, “Tia Cruz, I don’t like that song cause’ it makes me sad in here (touching chest).” I wanted to laugh. It was so cute for me. But, I understood that she somehow had associated the emotion of crying with sadness. Perhaps it was when she got discipline and it made her sad. I am not sure, but somewhere down the line this association was produced. I asked her is she wanted me to sing a song about princesses instead. She nodded with excitement as she held on to her Disney’s Princess Collection storybook. She wiped her eyes and waited for the concerto to begin!
I wrote her this song as I thought about my childhood fairy tales, and how I did not want her to ever loose hope in her dreams as I once did of mine. They were storylines with minimal probabilities of becoming true.

The Fairy Tales of Life
Have you heard of Cinderella?
Working hard to reach the palace
All she’s left is with a broken slipper.
Have you heard of Rapunzel?
Mighty girl in a stronghold
Trapped away in the tower’s cold

These are the fairy tales of life
These are the fairy tales of life

Don’t let your dreams go by
Don’t let your wish fall short
Don’t think you won’t survive
Come on and seek the Lord
Don’t look into your past
Your life is here to last
Not a Once Upon a Time.

Have you heard of Sleeping Beauty?
Seeking love and her cutie
Sleeping through the days of time
Have you heard of Snow White?
Lots of friends but no life
So naive she believes all she sees

These are the fairy tales of life
These are the fairy tales of life

Don’t let your dreams go by
Don’t let your wish fall short
Don’t think you won’t survive
Come on and seek the Lord
Don’t look into your past
Your life is here to last
Not a Once Upon a Time.
Not a Once Upon a Time…
[You’re] not a Once Upon a Time…

So, don’t let your life be just another Once Upon a Time…DO SOMETHING OF YOURSELF. Don’t be afraid to succeed…don’t be afraid to fail. For in both situations we will learn what we are all about.

Leave a Reply

