Secret Shame

“I messed up big time! I cheated on him!”.

I got a sobbing call this morning from one of my very good close friends. She has a good marriage (well, at least I thought she did). But, recently she cheated on her husband. She is scared to loose her family.

Question of the day:
Should she confess it to her husband, and risk losing it all? Or should she just deal with this secret shame, and say nothing, and strive to restore her heart?

I know where I stand on this.  I am interested to see what you have to say about the issue. 
1 Comment (+add yours?)

  1. Iris
    Jun 21, 2008 @ 02:05:22

    Wow. I Know how she feels, and yes its a lot to think about because you don’t really know the damage you do until you do it. Well you do know but just don’t think about it at the time, especially if you are going through a tough time at the moment (not feeling loved, unattended or unwanted because of missed communication, or no communication at all…ect.) Just how I had done what i did I had to take the guts and risk loosing it all. My Very good friends Juan and Lupe helped me so much. I said I don’t want to we are going to get a divorce and he’s going to take the kids away from me, and they said yes thats true, but what if he doesn’t. They also told me speak the truth and it shall make you free. I am not going to say it was easy it was so hard I felt dirty and shameful before God and before my husband. This is not a time to say well if you had not done this or you never did that and bla bla. It was something I just could not do. How would I say it? Well I Had to take all the courage of the world and stop my ocean of tears and do the right thing and confess. Well all I can say to make the story short, God restored our marriage and will be 9 years married on July 3. Some might say why would she say part of her life on internet how shameful , you know what I am not ashame, yes it was wrong but God gave me a new opportunity to show not only me but the world that the truth will always bring freedom in Him and I know that this part of my life will be of some help for people who are going through the same situation. John 8:32 … “you shall know the truth and the truth shall SET you free” 36 …”If the son therefore shall SET you free, you shall be free indeed.”

    Reply

Leave a Reply

