Words…Works

Believe me that I am in the Father and the Father is in me; but if you do not, then believe me because of the works themselves. (John 14:11)

We can take the meaning of Jesus’ words or we can observe the evidence of his works. We can listen to Him or we can watch Him. Both the words and the works lead to the same conclusion: Jesus reveals God to us.

credit: Peterson, Eugene H., A Year With Jesus (HarperCollins Publishers, New York, NY 2006.) pg. 330

When people doubt the existence of God, our life should be the most convincing rebuttal to such thought. Our testimony should bring such a revelation of who God really is, and how He loves and longs for intimate relationship with every individual that they are convinced He does exist. When my neighbor, my friend, my co-worker, or my family seeks to know more of God—->they should be able to see Him in Me. It all comes down to lip-service or life-serving. Do I walk the talk? It is awesome that Jesus could actually say….”If you don’t believe in God by what I say…then believe in God by the works that flow from my life.” I long to be one who God may HEAR my words of faith and SEE my works in faith!

Do your works match your words?

Leave a Reply

