Ms. Young

I’ve written this post with another post in mind that I read earlier today.

So, who is Ms. Young?  Is it a teenager, a young adult, a friend from choir, or my pastor?

Well, it depends who asks the question.  The “Is She Young?” question gets coined around in many contexts.  The wife asks the husband about his new co-worker.  The protective mother asks her son about his first girlfriend visiting from college.  The friend asks her friend about her new ‘awesome’ acquaintaince.  The mentor asks the parent after hearing the dumb decisions his/her daughter just made.

And, so I too asked the “Is She Young?” question this week.  My niece and I were talking about an incident in which she explained that an acquaintance was crying about a difficult work situation, and so forth.  So I asked her, “Is she young?”  Betty quickly responds, “Oh, no.  She’s old! Like 34, I think.”

OMG, thanks Betty….I’m only 31 going on 32!

 

Being young is in the eye of the beholder:

For the 70 yr old, it’s the 60 yr old who is considering retiring soon.

For the 60 yr old, it’s the 50 yr old who can barely order from the Senior Citizen menu.

For the 50 yr old, it’s the 40 yr old who is starting to get her hot flashes, and possibly be called grandma.

For the 40 yr old, it’s the 30 yr old who has yet to discover children’s college expenses.

For the 30 yr old, it’s the 20 yr old who can’t legally order a margarita or can  risk going to the store without foundation.

For the 2o yr old, it’s the 10 yr old who isn’t allowed to wear make-up or drive.

And for the 10 yr old, it’s anyone under her age because she’s a big girl now 🙂

So, I guess I’m old to the 20 yr old, but I will say what my grandpa used to say in Spanish: Como te ves, me vi y como me veo te veras!

How you look, I once looked.  How I look, you shall look!

2 Comments (+add yours?)

  1. tlc4women
    Mar 19, 2009 @ 15:40:53

    Hot flashes at 40? Say it isn’t so! 🙂

    Reply

  2. Vikki Grijalva
    Mar 20, 2009 @ 06:09:42

    I am only 43 and the hot flashes come rapidly, especially at night when I am trying to get my 8 hours of sleep (they call it beauty sleep) I call it the sweat chamber. There is nothing worse than waking up totally drenched, hey who needs a sauna, i got hot flashes (SMILE)

    Reply

Leave a Reply

