Liar, Liar, Pants on Fire!

We are doing 21 days of fasting (Daniel’s Fast), and I have begun reading a book titled “30 Days of Taming Your Tongue” by Deborah S. Pegues. I am playing catch-up so that I get to read one chapter a day for the next 21 days. I am following the Daniel Fast guidelines, but figured this tongue needs taming considering the “slips” its had in these past weeks. You know what “slips” I am talking about….those conversations or comments you allow yourself to disclose even when a a voice in the back of your head tells you not to. For some of us, the voice is now a whisper in the far back of our head because we’ve used and abused this habit.  If we are not careful, we can start some nasty fires in our lives and in the lives of others if we do not speak with prudence and truth.

Day One: The Lying Tongue
Proverbs 12:22 says, “The LORD detests lying lips, but He delights in men who are truthful.”

Deceitfulness, exaggerating, and telling half-truths are all habits that go against walking in integrity. Exaggerating a situation “just a little bit” is a dangerous game. Telling my husband I paid a bill this morning to avoid saying I paid it until10 a.m. when I was asked to pay it before 9 a.m. to avoid a late fee is lying.
So, instead of telling a half-truth, embellishing a situation, or being deceitful, let us pray outloud and do as Proverbs 8:7-8:
“My mouth speaks what is true, for my lips detest wickedness. All the words of my mouth are just; none of them is crooked or perverse.”

3 Comments (+add yours?)

  1. Frannie
    Jan 26, 2010 @ 20:16:07

    I’m reading this too!

    Reply

  2. kingsview
    Jan 27, 2010 @ 07:48:11

    Cool! Thanks for stopping by 🙂

    Reply

  3. Frannie
    Feb 03, 2010 @ 18:42:14

    Thanks for replying! God bless!

    Reply

Leave a Reply

