My Husband and My Space

My husband frowns on the fact that so many people use My Space as a way to flaunt their private affairs. Yesterday, I finally remembered my password for my MySpace account. The last time I had logged on was in October of 2008. I never was a great fan of it, but it was a way to keep in touch with our church youth group. And, yes, there were some of our kids’ profiles that definitly disclosed ugly stuff. Still, our leadership promoted a God-centered page. I decided to go back to the site because some of the youth still keep close and my cell phone many times looses its text messages. I figured this would be a good way to keep in tough and mentor from here if necessary. The problem arose when Miguel passed by my computer and saw some not so “godly” pictures posted on a page. He asked what was the purpose….why someone would post such pics….how was it Christ-like….and he ended as Head of Household, “I ORDER you to delete your account at once!”

“What?” (excuse me, I am not five years old anymore…..ORDER me? Ok, well, that’s a different issue and a whole other post….I got over it soon as I tried to understand his point of view. His word choice was not the best, but he was acting in my best interest.)

He said that one’s private life is should reflect God’s freedom but it does not gives us the right to cause others to stumble because of our liberties.

I have to agree in some aspects with him. I saw pictures of a friend who I know loves God, but uploaded pics of “poor taste” (my personal opinion). My friend has so much more to offer than what is portrayed. We share different convictions, but also share similar convictions since we are both surrounded by many younger eyes. It’s tough. I mean, do you hide what you do in your private life for the sakes of others…and is that being a fake? Or does one just “let it all out” claiming one’s personal right and option to be/do/say what one feels like? I reserved the right right now to not disclose my full opinion on this matter. I do have to say that I was saddened at a “funny” comment posted in my friend’s profile because although it is cool to have fun, those that are not mature in life or in Christ might take one’s liberties as a freedom to sin.

Well, after a table discussion between Miguel, Betty, Beba, and myself on the Pros and Cons of having a myspace account, his eyes were opened. We showed him a picture of himself with one of his nephews from this past year as they were in the central coast of Mexico. My husband looked good…baseball cap, cargo shorts, and glasses. He liked his picture, so he said, “Now, that’s what I am talking about! Post some good stuff…” LOL, he makes me laugh….and mad sometimes. Neither one of us is photogenic (future post), so he won’t have a big problem with me post pics where he is being exposed!

2 Comments (+add yours?)

  1. tlc4women
    Apr 02, 2009 @ 07:14:30

    I opened an account when the youth leaders did so that I could access the account. Once I saw our youth kids pages I never went back. Their need for exhibition (in all forms) was a little too much for me. I would leave saddened by the whole deal. So at this point in my life, I see no need for a MySpace page.

    I understand our dilemma. It’s that the Internet seems so anonymous but yet millions have access. Those pictures that we post can be copied and pasted to other sites and will live on far past our days of youthful indiscretion.

    Besides, everyone’s on Facebook now anyway! 🙂

    Reply

  2. kingsview
    Apr 02, 2009 @ 08:28:53

    True. Miguel and I saw our nieces/nephews’ pages from New York and L.A. and….oh boy, can I say no comment? (sigh) But at least, we know how we can pray for them, and specifically target them before the Lord.

    There is nothing anonymous about posting yourself half naked with your face towards the camera.

    Facebook? Alma keeps emailing me the link and asking WHEN I was going to open an account…..”I just dont’ have time for that!” or maybe I don’t want to set time aside for that. I try juggling many things every day of which I try to prioritize so that I can do a good job in them, serve my family, ministry, and have some time for Him and me.

    Reply

Leave a Reply

