Is It Fair?

According to the Merriam-Webster Dictionary one of the definitions of FAIR is to be  marked by impartiality and honesty : free from self-interest, prejudice, or favoritism.

As a teacher, I have always been told that I must treat my students the same if I want to be fair.  With controversial issues such as English-Only vs Dual Immersion or other EL programs, assessment by the previous statements becomes a problem.  How can I treat all my students the same if one of them has a lower reading level, lower CELDT score, or even a higher IQ?

My Health instructor said this statement at the end of our final on Monday:

“If you want to be fair then you have to treat students different.”

Huh?  He continued his lecture by reminding us that requiring a student to perform just like the rest of the students even when it is not physically possible for him or her is unfair (prejudice).  However, we do ask students to successfully produce quality academic writing and reading assignments when they don not have the knowledge, the foundation, or even the language.  I’m still reflecting on my stance on this statement.  I’m trying to clarify what is truly means and what it encompasses.

What do you think about the above statement?

2 Comments (+add yours?)

  1. tlc4women
    Feb 04, 2010 @ 07:17:14

    I think our model is God himself. He is not fair. He is just. That knowledge has always served me well in life.

    Reply

  2. kingsview
    Feb 09, 2010 @ 12:53:10

    Justice vs Fairness….interesting concept to research.

    Reply

Leave a Reply

