Skin of Dead Sheep

There is a quote from an American drama critic and author that states:

Part of the American myth is that people who are handed the skin of a dead sheep at graduating time think that it will keep their minds alive forever. (John Mason Brown 1900-1969)

This quote made me ponder on how this myth falls into the minds of many other institutions here in America.  For example, many church goers believe that their once-a-week church service routine will keep their relationship with God alive.  They are handed a “skin” of biblical principles every week, but it is only to help them learn how to nourish and care for their own skin.  It is not the purpose of the teacher or the preacher to take the spot of Wisdom.  Wisdom and knowledge are two distinct friends.  Knowledge is knowing.  Wisdom is applying what we know.  Graduation time comes for many across the schools of America from preschool graduation to doctorate levels.  A paper is handed into the hands of the achiever, but wisdom is calling out at every corner when he or she is faced with the opportunity to apply such knowledge.  Wisdom must be sought.

Col 1:9-10 For this reason also, since the day we heard of it, we have not ceased to pray for you and to ask that you may be filled with the knowledge of His will in all spiritual wisdom and understanding, so that you may walk in a manner worthy of the Lord, to please Him in all respects, bearing fruit in every good work and increasing in the knowledge of God.

Proverbs 2:10 When wisdom entereth into thine heart, and knowledge is pleasant unto thy soul; 11 Discretion shall preserve thee, understanding shall keep thee: 12 To deliver thee from the way of the evil man.

I read in a commentary that the word most used in the Bible for wisdom was “hokmah” which in Hebrew means skill.  My husband has knowledge in fence building, but he also possess the skill of installing them.  When someone else passes their understanding of things to us, in essence they are making us more knowledgeable.  But that knowledge does not make us wise.  A skin of a dead sheep is no longer viable.  It serves other purposes once it is detached from it’s living organism.  Knowledge does not keep us alive on its own.  We must seek to apply it.

Have You Been Hiding Under Someone Else’s Skin?

3 Comments (+add yours?)

  1. tlc4women
    Feb 16, 2010 @ 14:38:39

    YES! I love this. Everyone must seek out wisdom and it’s not ALL found in quotes from the platform, there is simply not enough time. It’s found in the journey you decide to take through the word of God for you own sake. I LOVE bible studies and I get as many as I can and I take notes like crazy but then I go back and READ and STUDY because it’s there that wisdom sits down to soothe and fill my soul with knowledge. It is my priority and must continue to be so. For we are not flesh with a soul, that is where we get messed up in our understanding of wisdom, we are soul with a flesh and that soul is what takes us to everlasting.

    Reply

  2. kingsview
    Feb 16, 2010 @ 15:12:56

    True. It saddens my heart to see how many casually sit on Sundays distracted with children, their nails, their cellphones, and God knows what more. I am translating in the back and I ask God to help me remember what I am translating so that I can go back and study it. I wish I could multi-task even more to read, translate, and write my thoughts all at the same time. But I can’t. So, I must rely on my brain to remember key words to look up and scriptures to study during my personal time. Solomon asked for wisdom. He knew it was not something he would casually stumble upon. Wisdom is sought.

    Reply

  3. tlc4women
    Feb 16, 2010 @ 21:29:59

    I often keep that in prayer in regard to you. That as you are translating it is being sealed in your heart and that the ears and eyes of your understanding be opened and answered. Keep seeking. The people who seem distracted are following their own path. May it be the one that leads to God and may we not stumble while wondering.

    Reply

Leave a Reply

